In New Jersey, child support is based upon the premise that financial support is a continuous duty until “emancipation” and that children are entitled to share in the current income of both parents. New Jersey utilizes a Child Support Guideline (or formula) for calculating child support in support cases where the combined net income of the parents is $187,200.00 or less. This involves entering information into a worksheet (i.e. the guidelines) and calculating the amount of each parent’s time with the child in order to produce a weekly child support figure.
In cases involving net income in excess of $187,200.00 per year, the determination of the amount of child support requires additional analysis. In those cases, the child support guidelines are utilized to determine the minimum amount of child support awarded, and then additional analysis is utilized to determine how much to deviate up from the minimum guideline amount.
Our team of experienced Family Law attorneys frequently handle cases involving child support obligations as they arise in a number of different contexts; including divorce, separation, support between non-married individuals, post-judgment or modification applications, emancipation of the child and appeals. Given the complexities involved in calculating child support (Are child care expenses included? What about health insurance? Who pays for camp or sports or tutoring?), we encourage you to contact our office to schedule a PHONE CONSULTATION to discuss your case.
For more information regarding the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines, you may review the Guidelines at the following address: http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/csguide/index.htm
PLEASE CONTACT OUR OFFICE AT 908-782-2900 TO SCHEDULE YOUR FREE PERSONAL PHONE CONSULTATION OR SUBMIT YOUR INFORMATION HERE.